She rolls!

We have reached a big milestone!

LA is no longer the beached whale she once was.

She has acquired a new super power.

The power of movement!
With her considerable strength and coordination combined, LA is able to move from one side of the blanket to the other…

She can even reposition herself in bed…

And occasionally get stuck…

IMG_0068

“But that’s ok”, she says, “because if I cry loudly enough, my Mama can wake from even the deepest of slumbers to come to my rescue at any time.”

Ahh, it’s so exciting to see my once sedentary little peanut grow in strength and discover new abilities. She actually first rolled over from front to back months ago, but I think she did this unintentionally as she flailed in anger and rebellion towards tummy time. Now she can roll over from her back onto her tummy with ease, although she sometimes has trouble returning to her back (a reverse-turtle problem!). With that new skill she has also figured out how to rotate  around in a circle. And now there is no stopping her…it’s crazy to think that only a couple of weeks ago she could barely move except to rock from side to side and arch her back.

Now I just need to figure out how to prevent the need for repeated rescue missions at all hours of the night and day. I hope that the novelty of being able to move soon wears off and she lets me have some longer sleeps again! It is pretty fun watching her squirm, wiggle and roll about on the baby monitor though…makes me smile everytime. And whenever I enter in the room and catch her moving around she flashes me the biggest “look what I did Mama!” smiles.

IMG_7772

Make my day! Leave a comment:

